Rufus Wainwright Unfollow The Rules Album Songs, Review, and Lyrics

Share This Article:
Rufus Wainwright Unfollow The Rules Album Songs, Review, and Lyrics

Rufus Wainwright is a Canadian-American singer, music composer and a songwriter.

He made his debut in music industry through the album named Rufus Wainwright in 1998. He has recorded many music albums of original music and several soundtracks for movies soundtracks.

You might have known Rufus from his songs from the hit albums like  Want One, Want two, Release the stars, Out of Game, Milwaukee at Last, Rufus does Judy at Carnegie Hall, All days are Nights: Songs for Lulu and many more.

Having to go through several hardships in his life himself, his songs are pretty blunt and straightforward regarding the queer things like peoples’ sexuality and drug uses. The pain and struggle are expressed in his strong voice that makes people feel the song even more deeply.

Rufus has spent the all his years ignoring the rulebook of the society and creating his own musical pathway. He has a unique singing style that makes the rough voice to sound polished in a sweet way while singing from magnificent and fine-tuned one moment to astonishingly heartbreaking in the next moment.

Now, Rufus Wainwright has returned to us with another of his self-described album with original material “Unfollow the Rules”.

Here is everything you need to know about his new album Unfollow the Rules.

Unfollow the Rules – Album Release and Concert

The album is set to be released on 10th July 2020 via BMG. Whereas we might have to wait upto 2021 for the concerts of the Album because of the ongoing pandemic.


Rufus Wainwright – Unfollow the Rules: List of songs

The Unfollow the rules Tracklist consists of altogether twelve songs. The songs are produced by David Boucher and Mitchell Froom and written by Rufus Wainright himself.

The 12 songs of the album are listed as follows:

  1. Trouble in Paradise
  2. Damsel in Distress
  3. Unfollow the rules
  4. You ain’t Big
  5. Romantical Man
  6. Peaceful Afternoon
  7. Only the people that Love
  8. This One’s for the Ladies (THAT LUNGE)
  9. My Little You
  10. Early Morning Madness
  11. Hatred
  12. Alone Time

View this post on Instagram

Track #10 on #UnfollowTheRules is #EarlyMorningMadness. It’s all about hangovers. I’d call this a parlour trick. I’m taking the listener on a journey. It’s fun, but dark, about addiction, essentially. The struggle that never ceases. On one hand, something could inspire me greatly. On the other, it could kill me. You can really feel the live vibe and the machinations. It’s just fantastic to perform, and the arrangement we created for @the_paramour_estate was magnificent. Shoutout to @jacobmannmusic and your wonderful gong work! The album version is even more haunting than the Paramour one. Thank you @theofficialsting for your quote, I know this one’s your favorite! The madness I’m feeling now is the anticipation of album release, I’m not even sure I’ll be able to sleep I’m so excited. Are you ready? ✨

A post shared by Rufus Wainwright (@rufuswainwright) on

Rufus Wainwright: Unfollow the Rules Song Lyrics

The lyrics of all the twelve songs are yet not available as the album is not officially released. But we have got our hands on the lyrics of  Trouble in Paradise, Damsel and Distress, You ain’t Big, Peaceful afternoon and Alone time. 

Rufus Wainwright: Unfollow the Rules- Album Review

The title song of the album is “Trouble In Paradise”. According to the songwriter himself, he said that this song is based on Anna Wintour. He was going to write a song about the fashion world so Anna character was an important part for that.

He also mentioned that he finds the fashion world very scary and somewhat troubling. At the end of the song, he sings that probably Anna is a good person after all it’s just that the fashion world has a difficult life.

Similarly, Damsel in Distress is dedicated to the singer-songwriter Joni Mitchell as a long over-due love letter.  

Another song, “My Little You” is the celebration of family, dedicated to his daughter, who inspired him for the title Unfollow the rules when she into his room and said “Daddy, sometimes I want to unfollow the rules”.

The song is short and sweet, accompanied by piano and passage to the melodramatic, “Early Morning Madness”, about a life on drugs and drinks, a story he himself could relate to.

Likewise, the song “Hatred” depicts about the horror and terror of America where the Trump rules. The piano tune in the opening suggests a siren of police car and the street violence.

“Alone Time” is dedicated to those who have suffered during the pandemic.

As a whole, the album consists of operatic delivery of songs having hidden meaning and soothing to the ears.